Virtual network meetings

Please contact criticalinternationalization@gmail.com to join the network and meetings. 

Upcoming events

October 26, 2020, meeting of the Critical Internationalization Studies Network sub-group on Race and Racism chaired by Dr. Chrystal George Mwangi and Dr. Kumari Beck

November 12, 2020 Work-in-Progress Session: Dr. Mirjam Hauck and Dr. Francesca Helm on Thursday, November 12 starting at 9AM PST/12PM EST/5PM UK/6PM SAST. Their paper is “Critical Internationlisation through Critical Virtual Exchange (VE)”

January 2021 Network Meeting:  Siseko Kumalo will join us as a guest presenter. More information forthcoming.

Past events

September 2018: Dr. Chrystal George Mwangi, “What is a Critical Lens Doing in a Nice Field like International Higher Education and Where Do We Go From Here?”

January 2019: Featuring guest speakers Dr. Riyad Shahjahan, Annabelle Estera, and Vivek Vellanki. You can listen to an audio recording of our session here: 

May 2019: Dr. Abigail Boggs, “The Noncitizen Student, the State and Capital: On The Transnational Politics of the Neoliberal University”

September 2019: Dr. Gerardo Blanco, “Can We Critically Approach Work That Has Been Framed Uncritically? Doing Internationalization as Collective Account-Giving”

January 2020: Dr. Adriana Diaz, “Charting the linguistic landscape of internationalisation: Tensions between equitable and elite multilingualism”

May 2020: Dr. Amalia Dache, “Racial Ideology is Political Ideology: The Incommensurability of Cuban Higher Education Access”

September  2020: Dr. Jenny J. Lee, “Securitization of the Academy during COVID-19”.

October 2020 Work-in-Progress Session: Dr. Riyad Shahjahan and Dr. Kirsten Edwards, “Whiteness, Futurity and Globalization of Higher education”

To sign up for the network mailing list in order to get updates about these and other events, please send an email with “subscribe” in the header to: criticalinternationalization@gmail.com